top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVioletta Editorial

Auld Lang Syne



Of late, I've been thinking of how short life is. Well, recently I went to visit caves that were inhabited 5,000 years ago. It was a surreal experience to know that I was treading on grounds that were

trodden on long before my known ancestors ever lived. I mean my grandparents, my great grandparents, my great greats and other great great greats. I have a family tree dating back to seven generations and none of those people were present 5,000 years ago. Sometimes you think they died so long ago and yet the universe disagrees. It has seen much more people than anyone will ever see. In this case, even Queen Elizabeth is pretty young to the universe.


If we have such a short lifespan, is life worth it or do we have to be grateful that we live for a little while yet when we are alive we think we have all the time in our lives. No wonder we are told that if we learn to number our days, we become wiser. I mean at this point, I feel a lot of things I consider important are useless. We don't even know what those guys did during their lifetime or how they actually lived except what history wants to tell us. We do not know if some killed themselves or if some were gloomy or if some were pretty happy and made everyone smile. Sometimes I wish we could know the real them. Not their deeds. But the real them died with them. What a tragic truth!


That means many moons from now, no one will ever know how we felt. No one will ever know what made us sad or happy. No one will ever know the many times we gave up but got back to try again. What does that tell us?


If my feelings die with me, then at least I would want to be happy. Happy or sad does not count but I would like to have positive vibes around me just to feel good. When the ground finally welcomes me, my spirits will be jovial. I would prefer that than taking my frustrations to the grave.


Now do I choose to enjoy my life with all there is about fun because my lifespan is short... Well, that is a brilliant idea. But I want to say it is brilliant for small minds. How will people know that we lived if we don't leave our footprints behind like the caves I visited. Well, these were not just caves. They had rock paintings that are withering although they are much older than all the life I know collectively. I won't leave rock paintings though. Unfortunately I am not talented in art. I don't know what I will do. But I know that I will do something great.


So.... I will stop at this by making a toast to everyone who I have met and has made my life wonderful and for all that are on their way coming to me. I can't wait to meet you. You're finding a complete person at the moment. I hope you come to compliment me and not break me. I love all of you in advance and really looking forward to welcoming you in my little life.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page